Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

June 15, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday June 15, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Jennifer Zahradnik, County, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Loras Schulte, Norway, Amy Boddicker, County, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Nancy Jensen, County, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg, Kelly Groskurth, Atkins, Erika Hodgson, County, and Dave Fish, Belle Plaine.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Kaestner to approve the May 18, 2023 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Cross to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included tree cutting, equipment maintenance, property maintenance, upcoming preconstruction meeting and hauling dirt in. Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Vogeler to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included summer reading program information, staff training and compost bin rebate program. Motion made by Fish, seconded by Seeman to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Jensen, seconded by Cross to approve Resolution 2023-06-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-06-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Kearns to approve Resolution 2023-06-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Fish to approve the Liberty Tire contract. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Boddicker to approve a 10% wage increase for the Landfill Manager. All Ayes.

Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-06-04 Employee Wages. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Seeman, seconded by Cross. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:06 PM.

Chairperson